Our partnerships with student organizations are making thousands of talented young people aware of career opportunities in commercial space and satellite.  To do that work, we depend on experts in our membership to serve as mentors to student groups and individual students.  They participate in conference calls, review information and offer advice.  When we sponsor student competitions, they serve as our judges.  We honor their contributions and thank them for helping our industry gain its share of the best and brightest among the next generation.

Current Mentors

Joseph Amor
Vice President and General Manager, Microspace Communications


Edward Ashford
President, Ashford Aerospace Consulting


                          Tom Butash
                          Engineering Fellow, BAE Systems

Bradley Cheatham
President & CEO, Advanced Space

Ariane Cornell
Business Development & Strategy, Blue Origin


Rebecca Cowen-Hirsch
Senior Vice President, Inmarsat Government Services, Inc.

Denis Curtin
Member, Satellite Hall of Fame


Jennifer Dawson
Product Assurance Program Manager, Space Systems Loral

Jared Gill
Technical Director / Deputy Program Manager, Space Systems Loral


Roger Franklin
President & CEO, Crystal

Dawn Harms
Vice President, Business Development, Boeing Space Systems International

Susan Irwin
President, Irwin Communications
Member, Satellite Hall of Fame


Kathleen Karika
Business Development, Commercial Space, Lockheed Martin Space Systems

Nao Murakami
Spacecraft Systems Engineer, Space Systems Loral

Eloy Salcedo
Senior Customer Solutions Engineer
Intelsat Global Sales & Marketing Ltd.

Sidney Skjei
President, Skjei Consulting

Chris Stott
Chairman & CEO, ManSat
Mentor of the Year 2015

Become a Mentor

Mentorship  requires small donations of time, and rich sharing of your real-world experience, your technical and business expertise, and your connections with others in the industry.  If you are interested in helping the next generation find a professional home in commercial space and satellite, contact SSPI's executive director.