Skip to Main Content

Inspire Awards

The Inspire Awards honor artists in visual, literary, and performing arts whose work has inspired the people of the space and satellite industry to create the innovations, raise the funds, and overcome the enormous obstacles to lay the foundations for the space economy of the future. SSPI defines impact through the lens of its major campaigns:

Making Leaders – inspiring, through the arts, the interest, imagination and intention to choose careers in space and satellite

Better Satellite World – envisioning, portraying, and inspiring, through the arts, a vision of how space and satellite technologies might improve the fortunes of humanity

2021 Inspire Awards

SSPI presented the first ever Inspire Award at the 2021 Space & Satellite Hall of Fame Celebration on March 23, 2021.

Larry Niven

Larry Niven is the author of numerous science fiction short stories and novels, from his first short story “The Coldest Place” published in 1964 to his best-known work, Ringworld, which received Hugo, Locus, Ditmar and Nebula awards. His collaborative novels with Jerry Pournelle, The Mote in God’s Eye and Lucifer’s Hammer, are among his other most famous works. Niven also received three Hugo awards for Best Short Story for his “Neutron Star,” “Inconstant Moon” and “The Hole Man” stories and one for Best Novelette for his “The Borderland of Sol.” A great number of Niven’s works, including Ringworld, take place in his Known Space universe, in which humanity shares the several habitable star systems nearest to the Sun with over a dozen alien species. He is also known within science fiction fandom for the creation of “Niven’s Laws,” which describe how the universe works; the first and most well-known of these is: “There is no cause so right that one cannot find a fool following it.” Read More about Larry Niven.

With Thanks to Our Corporate Partners